Welcome to the Beta version of CCC&TI's new website! Let us know if you have questions--we're here for you.

Medication Aide

At a Glance

Employment Opportunities:

    • Home Care Agencies

    • Hospice

    • Hospitals

    • Nursing Homes

    • Physician’s Offices

    • Specialty Hospitals

Estimated Salary

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics website, current state hourly wage range is $11.64 – $16.88. By taking this 28-hour Medication Aide course, the hourly wage typically increases $1 to $3 per hour over having the Nurse Aide certification alone.

I'm Ready to Apply

I'd Like to Learn More

This course is designed to prepare non-licensed personnel with the skills required by the North Carolina Board of Nursing to practice as a Medication Aide in long-term care/skilled nursing facilities within the state of North Carolina.

Course topics include:

Safe and accurate administration of medications via the following routes:

  • ear
  • eye
  • inhalant
  • nasal
  • nebulizer
  • oral
  • rectal
  • topical
  • vaginal

Students are not taught:

  • IM
  • IV
  • subcutaneous injections
  • administration of meds via G-tubes

Upon successful course completion, students are eligible to sit for the state examination in order to become listed on the North Carolina Division of Health Service Regulation Medication Aide Registry. 

Admission Requirements

  • High School Diploma or High School Equivalency
  • Must be 18 years of age
  • Current listing with the Division of Health Service Regulation as a Nurse Aide I with no substantiated findings of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of property.
  • Proof of completion of a minimum 75-hour, state approved Nurse Aide I course

Additional Requirements:

  • Social Security card – name must match government issued photo ID
  • Government issued photo ID – name must match Social Security card

Cost

Registration fee

$127.00

Textbooks*

$32.00

*May be purchased in College Bookstore
Textbook prices are subject to change.

Educational Pathways:

PathwayMedAide

Potential Educational Pathways for Nurse Aides

Courses Currently on the Schedule

Course/ScheduleTitleMeeting InformationInstructor
PHM-4100-751Medication Aide08/28/2024 – 09/05/2024 Classroom Hours: Wednesday, Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. Watauga Campus, Building W204, Room 114Corliss
PHM-4100-104Medication Aide10/15/2024 – 10/23/2024 Classroom Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. Caldwell, Building H, Room 218Corliss

Frequently Asked Questions

  • I am currently listed as a Nurse Aide in North Carolina.
    Why should I take the Medication Aide course?
    • When hiring, facilities give preference to nurse aides who also have their medication aide certification.
    • Some facilities pay $1 to $3 per hour more for those with medication aide certification.
    • For future nurses, the course helps instill confidence while performing medication administration
  • Is a state competency test required upon course completion?
  • How can I become listed on the registry as a Medication Aide?
    • Be currently listed on the North Carolina Nurse Aide I registry with no substantiated findings of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of property AND 
    • Complete a state approved Medication Aide course of a minimum 24 hours AND
    • Successfully pass the state administered competency examination
  • If listed on the NC Registry as a Medication Aide, can I work in an adult care home?
    • No
  • If listed on the NC Registry as a Medication Aide, can I administer injections?
    • No
  • Does North Carolina list Medication Aides by reciprocity, endorsement, or transfer from other states?
    • No, to be listed on the N.C. Medication Aide Registry, an out-of-state medication aide must pass a minimum 24-hour N.C. Board of Nursing-approved medication aide training program and pass the state medication aide exam.
  • Where can I get information regarding Medication Aide competency testing?
    • Visit the Credentia website at credentia.com/test-takers/ncma
    • Exam scheduling procedures are provided in the Candidate Handbook.
    • Application process and additional information may be found on the website or by calling the following  numbers:
      • Exam Application Processing Questions: (888) 204-6207
      • Exam Reservation/Cancellation: (800) 274-7176
  • When I complete the training and become listed, how can I renew?
    • Through qualified, documented work experience consisting of 8 hours within the previous two years, for pay, under a registered nurse or qualified supervisor.
  • What happens if I do not renew within the required 24-month period?
    • A new training program and competency exam is required to become re-listed.
  • Do I have to be a Medication Aide to apply for nursing school?
    • No. Medication Aide Certification is not a requirement for nursing school.

For additional information, contact

Office: Caldwell-H-113  Work Phone: 828.726.2319  Work Emailmbumgarner@cccti.edu

Continuing Education and Workforce Development Department
2855 Hickory Boulevard
Hudson, NC 28638
828.726.2242 Watauga Continuing Education Department
460 Community College Drive
P.O. Box 3318
Boone, NC 28607
828.297.8120