Welcome to the Beta version of CCC&TI's new website! Let us know if you have questions--we're here for you.

Driver Safety

Driver Safety programs focus on an individual driver’s responsibility to interact lawfully within the traffic system to create and maintain a safe environment for all drivers.

At a Glance

I'm Ready to Apply

I'd Like to Learn More

CCC&TI Driver Safety Weapons Policy: Possession or use of a weapon, as defined by North Carolina state law, on CCC&TI premises or at CCC&TI sponsored or supervised functions, is prohibited under North Carolina General Statute §14-269.2. Students may not have a weapon of any kind, including but not limited to, a knife, stun gun, explosive or any firearm in their possession on campus or at any college-sponsored activities, except as otherwise specifically provided by law. Under G.S. §14-269.2, individuals with a concealed carry permit are allowed to legally keep firearms in a locked vehicle while on campus, but the law does not allow the concealed carry permit holder to possess, carry, or display the handgun around campus or on any other part of CCC&TI owned properties. Violators will be referred for criminal prosecution and faculty, staff, or student violations will be subject to college disciplinary action. These restrictions do not apply to on-duty law enforcement personnel or any sworn officer attending training.

Call 828.726.2242 in Caldwell County or 828.297.8120 in Watauga County for registration information and eligibility requirements or Register Online.

Driver Safety Courses include:

Course Include:

Alive @ 25! Defensive Driving Course

Alive at 25 is a four-hour classroom training program for drivers ages 16 to 24. This program goes hand in hand with the defensive driving program; however, this young driver intervention program zeroes in on drivers between the ages of 16 and 24, the group most likely to be involved in fatal collisions. This highly interactive four hour program teaches young drivers how to take control of the situation by taking responsibility for their own driving behavior.

The Alive@25 course is taught throughout the year on both the Caldwell and Watauga Campuses. Visit the Online Schedule page to see when Alive@25 classes are scheduled.

Call 828.726.2242 in Caldwell County or 828.297.8120 in Watauga County for registration information and eligibility requirements or Register Online .

NOTE: Tuition and fees paid for this course are non-refundable.

Defensive Driving Course

Defensive Driving Course (DDC) is a 4-hours is a classroom training program for drivers ages 25 and older. Got a traffic ticket, but don’t want your insurance rates to go up? Those charged with certain traffic violations, such as speeding, unsafe movement, etc., in any county that recognizes the NC Safety and health Council program may have their charges reduced by the District Attorney by taking this 4 hour course. Please check with your District Attorney’s Office in the county where you received your citation to see if you are eligible, even if the ticket was issued in a different state. If so, violations will be reduced to improper equipment and points will not appear on your driver’s license or your insurance.

Anyone receiving a moving traffic citation that did not result in an accident may be eligible to take the course. Please note you are NOT eligible for this program if your court date has passed, or if you have already paid your citation prior to class.

The Defensive Driving class is taught throughout the year on both the Caldwell and Watauga Campuses. Visit the Online Schedule page to see when Defensive Driving classes are scheduled.

Call 828.726.2242 in Caldwell County or 828.297.8120 in Watauga County for registration information and eligibility requirements or Register Online .

NOTE: Tuition and fees paid for this course are non-refundable.

Basic Rider Safety Program

The Basic Rider Safety Course (BRC) is designed for the student with little or no motorcycle riding experience. Students will learn the location and operation of the controls of the motorcycle and practice riding to demonstrate that they have the strength, balance and coordination to perform straight-line riding, shifting, turning, and stopping exercises. Students will learn street riding strategies needed for riding on the highway in traffic, as well as skills to avoid accidents – including emergency braking, swerving and proper cornering techniques. This course requires physical skill, such as being able to support a 300-pound motorcycle while straddling it and to push the motorcycle for distances up to 120 feet. The Basic Rider Course is conducted at a pace that results in successful completion for most novice riders. However, students who experience significant difficulty or become a safety risk to themselves or others will not be permitted to continue the riding activities in the course. Motorcycles are provided by the college; however, the student is responsible for the protective gear required to participate in this course. Upon successful completion of the 20-22 hour BRC course (actual time may be shorter or longer depending on the progression of training), students will be issued a skills waiver card for the NCDMV. This means the DMV will not require you to take their motorcycle riding test. You will still be required to visit your local DMV office and take their written exam before being issued a motorcycle endorsement.

IMPORTANT NOTICES:

 Age Requirements:

Must be 16 years of age or older. Students under the age of 18 must have a course waiver of liability signed by a parent or legal guardian before they are allowed to participate in the riding portion of the course.

Online e-Course Requirement:

You must complete the required introductory Motorcycle Safety Foundation online e-Course (within 30-days of attending the Saturday class). Approximately a few weeks prior to your course, students will receive an email with instructions on how to access the eCourse. The online e-Course will generally take 3 to 4 hours to complete. Please bring your certificate of completion to class with you on Saturday.

What to Bring:

  • Your personal DOT-Approved helmet (loaner helmets are available).
  • Eye protection (sunglasses, goggles, or face shield)
  • Full-Finger gloves
  • Long-sleeved shirt or light jacket
  • Long pants (heavy materials such as jeans)
  • Sturdy over-the-ankle footwear (no sneakers or tennis shoes)
  • Rain gear (if needed). Class is held rain or shine

You may also want to bring food, snacks and non-alcoholic drinks.

Times/Location:

Class will start promptly at 8:00 a.m. on the main campus at: 2855 Hickory Blvd, Hudson, NC 28638, Building J, Room 220.
Class will run rain or shine.

The Basic Rider Safety Course is taught February-November each year on the Caldwell Campus. Visit the Online Schedule page to see when Basic Rider Safety classes are scheduled. Call 828.726.2242 in Caldwell County or 828.297.8120 in Watauga County for registration information and eligibility requirements or Register Online.

The registration fee for this course is: $225. To view a video about the BRC, visit the MSF website at www.msf-usa.org.

NOTE: Tuition and fees paid for this course are non-refundable.
Please note that certified rider/coaches are authorized to remove anyone from the course who might pose a danger to themselves or others.

MSF 3-Wheel Basic Rider Course

The MSF 3-Wheel Basic Rider Course (3WBRC) is a basic, entry-level, learn-to-ride 3-wheel motorcycle training and education course. It provides the same fundamental skills as the MSF Basic Rider Course, but on 3-wheel, 3-track motorcycles (not sidecars). 3WBRC RiderCoaches who have been trained and certified by the MSF conduct the 3WBRC.

The course consists of both classroom and hands-on instruction including riding exercises and a knowledge and skills test. Total instructional time is two-days; approximately 16 hours. This course includes four hours of classroom activities and up to twelve hours of on-cycle riding exercises. A 3-Wheel DMV Skills Test License Waiver and a course completion card will be issued upon successful completion of the written and riding skills evaluation.

Please let us know if you will be using our 3-wheel motorcycle or bringing your own. Students may provide their own 3-wheel motorcycles BUT you must show proof of current insurance and registration. A student’s 3-wheel motorcycle must pass a T-CLOCKS inspection by the RiderCoach. To see if your 3-wheel motorcycle meets the definition of “3-Wheel Motorcycle”, go to the MSG website at: https://www.msf-usa.org.

The MSF 3-Wheel Basic Rider Course is several times each year on the Caldwell Campus. Visit the Online Schedule page to see when MSF 3-Wheel Basic Rider classes are scheduled.

Call 828.726.2242 in Caldwell County or 828.297.8120 in Watauga County for eligibility requirements. Register for the MSF 3-Wheel Basic Rider Class on the CAN-AM Rider Education Program webpage.

NOTE: Tuition and fees paid for this course are non-refundable.
Please note that certified rider/coaches are authorized to remove anyone from the course who might pose a danger to themselves or others.

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Age Requirements:

Must be 16 years of age or older. Students under the age of 18 must have a course waiver of liability signed by a parent or legal guardian before they are allowed to participate in the riding portion of the course.

Online e-Course Requirement:

You must complete the required introductory Motorcycle Safety Foundation online e-Course (within 30-days of attending the Saturday class). Approximately a few weeks prior to your course, students will receive an email with instructions on how to access the eCourse. The online e-Course will generally take 3 to 4 hours to complete. Please bring your certificate of completion to class with you on Saturday.

Electronic 3Wheel Rider handbooks Requirement:

You must purchase “The Motorcycle Safety Foundation 3-Wheel Basic RiderCourse” Rider Handbook (Kindle Edition) through Amazon (prior to attending the Saturday class). Go to this link to purchase and download: Motorcycle Safety BRC, Spanish, and 3Wheel Digital Handbooks. Cost, as of this publication, is $11.99.

What to Bring:

  • Your personal DOT-Approved helmet (loaner helmets are available).
  • Eye protection (sunglasses, goggles, or face shield)
  • Full-Finger gloves
  • Long-sleeved shirt or light jacket
  • Long pants (heavy materials such as jeans)
  • Sturdy over-the-ankle footwear (no sneakers or tennis shoes)
  • Rain gear (if needed). Class is held rain or shine

You may also want to bring food, snacks and non-alcoholic drinks.

Times/Location:

Class will start promptly at 8:00 a.m. on the main campus at: 2855 Hickory Blvd, Hudson, NC 28638, Building J, Room 220. Class will run rain or shine.