Welcome to the Beta version of CCC&TI's new website! Let us know if you have questions--we're here for you.

Massage Therapy

This course is designed to prepare the student for the certification examination required for the North Carolina licensure application process.

At a Glance

Course Content

  • Anatomy & Physiology
  • Body Mechanics
  • Business
  • Certification Exam Prep
  • Chair Massage
  • Communication
  • Deep Tissue Massage
  • Documentation & Assessment
  • East Asian Bodywork Theory
  • Ethics
  • Hydrotherapy
  • Hygiene & Standard Precautions
  • Indications & Contraindications
  • Intro to Chakras
  • Intro to Cupping
  • Intro to Marketing
  • Intro to Reflexology
  • Intro to Sports Massage
  • Kinesiology
  • NC Board Meeting
  • NC Laws & Rules
  • Pathophysiology
  • Somatic Psychology
  • Special Populations
  • Stone Massage
  • Swedish Massage
  • Student Clinics
  • Trigger Point Therapy
  • Wellness & Self-Care

Estimated Hourly Earnings for Massage Therapist

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics website, the current mean annual wage is $43,700.

Employment Opportunities

  • Chiropractic offices
  • Home care agencies
  • Hospice
  • Hospitals
  • Medical offices
  • Retirement homes
  • Self-employment
  • Spas
Department of Labor Standard Occupational Code (SOC): 31-9011

I'm Ready to Apply

I'd Like to Learn More

Through class work and practical “hands-on” training, students obtain a solid foundation for professional practice as an entry level Massage Therapist. Upon successful completion of the course, the student is eligible to sit for the certification exam and apply for state licensure in North Carolina.

Photo of Amy Swink
Amy Swink
Health Services
Continuing Ed. and Workforce Development
Office: Caldwell–H–149 Work Phone: 828-726-2341

Admission Information

Online Registration is not available

Registration Information

Continuing Education and Workforce Development
2855 Hickory Boulevard
Hudson, NC 28638

Watauga Continuing Education
460 Community College Drive
P.O. Box 3318
Boone, NC 28607

Competitive Admissions

Students, who successfully complete Massage Therapy training at CCC&TI, will receive three (3) points toward admission into the Physical Therapy Assistant program at CCC&TI.

Registration Requirements

The items listed below must be submitted PRIOR TO being accepted into the class.

  1. Massage Therapy Orientation (mandatory)
  2. Program Coordinator Interview
    •  When you have completed your Admission Packet, please call Amy Swink 828-726-2341 or email aswink@cccti.edu to set an interview appointment.
  3. Completed Admission Packet
  4. The Admission Packet includes:
    • Reading Placement Test or other documentation:
      • College English Class, SAT, ACT, or CASAS, within two years or completed college degree within five years of Massage Therapy class
    • Social Security card
      • Original SIGNED card
      • First and Last name on card must match government issued PHOTO ID
      • Cannot be laminated
    • Government issued PHOTO ID
      • NCDL, Passport, Military ID
      • First and Last name on ID must match name on social security card
      • Must be valid and cannot expire before the end of class
    • Immunization Record (Must have the following immunizations documented):
      • Tetanus Booster within past 10 years OR record of Tdap
      • Varicella (chickenpox) (2 shots or titer =/>1.09
      • Measles, mumps, rubella – MMR (2 shots or + titer)
      • Hepatitis B – (3 shots OR Positive Hepatitis B titer OR Declination Form found in the packet)
      • One-Step Tuberculin Skin Test (TST) – current, negative
      • Covid Vaccination (optional, though some clinical sites may require)
    • High School or College Transcript
      • Applicants should request colleges mail official transcripts directly to their home address. Transcripts must remain sealed and returned in the completed application packet. If currently enrolled in another college, those transcripts should be mailed at the completion of coursework also OR
      • A copy of your High School or College Diploma
    • Certification of Fitness to Attend Massage School
      • This form must be signed by a licensed physician, nurse practitioner, or physician’s assistant attesting to the student’s physical and mental well-being.
    • Non-Certified Criminal Background Check
      • Obtained at the Clerk of Court’s Office (a national criminal records check is required by the NC Board of Massage & Bodywork Therapy, which you will obtain at the Sheriff’s Department following completion of class.)

*For questions regarding immunizations, student should contact their healthcare provider recommendation of need, based upon age, health concerns and current CDC guidelines. If there are special considerations, the provider must document the need on letterhead or office stamp for validation.

Courses currently on the schedule:

Course/SectionTitleMeeting InformationInstructorAvailability / Capacity
MTH-3021-300Massage Therapy09/30/2024-09/29/2025 Classroom Hours Monday, Tuesday, Thursday 05:30PM – 09:30PM, Building – H, Room 211 (more)…Swink15/16
MTH-3021-752Massage Therapy05/28/2024-12/18/2024 Classroom Hours Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 09:00AM – 04:00PM, W204, Room 115 (more)…Swink15/16


Massage Therapy registration fee$203.00
Professional massage table (approximately)$550.00
Student ID$2.50
Massage Supplies (estimate)$75.00
Shoes** (estimate)$ 60.00
Massage Therapy Scrubs (2 sets estimate)$120.00

*May be purchased in College Bookstore.
**Black, closed-toe, closed-heel, water/skid resistant
Textbooks & Supplies Costs are subject to change.

Educational Pathway

Licensed Massage and Bodywork Therapist -> Athletic Trainer -> Exercise Physiologists ->Physical Therapist Assistants & Aides -> Physical Therapist


  • Is massage therapy training required to become licensed in North Carolina?
    • Yes. The North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy (NCBMBT) requires an applicant to successfully complete a state approved training program consisting of a minimum 500 in-class training hours.
  • Once I complete the course, how do I become licensed?
    • To obtain a license application packet, download the “Application Request Form” located in the Document Center on the Board website at www.bmbt.org. Once completed, the form is to be mailed to the Board with a $20 application fee.
    • You are also required to pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) in order to be considered for licensure in North Carolina.
  • What paperwork is required for the MBLEx?
    • A completed application form and fee payment is required. No transcripts or letters are required.
  • Should I send transcripts to the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) to apply to sit for the exam?
    • No, CCC&TI will provide education records to FSTMB; however, you must submit them to apply for state licensure.
  • What is the MBLEx application processing time?
    • Once your application is received, you will be notified by email within seven days.
    • You will receive your Notice to Schedule; you will be allowed 90 days in which to take the exam.
  • How much does the MBLEx cost?
    • $265
    • Initial NC Board of Massage & Bodywork Therapy licensure (with application and background check fee) $210

Useful Links


Licensure: Authorization granted to CCC&TI to provide instruction within another state does not imply or provide guarantees of any kind that an individual will be granted professional licensure by another state as a result of completing coursework at CCC&TI or receiving professional licensure in North Carolina. It is the sole responsibility of the individual/student to determine whether another college or license-awarding agency in another state will accept CCC&TI coursework and/or award licensure through a reciprocity agreement with the State of North Carolina.